What are the main cybersecurity challenges in the region? How is EU4Digital helping to build resilience in the partner countries?

  • Date: 22/04/20
  • Share:

An analysis of state regulations, policies and security measures already implemented by Eastern partner countries has allowed us to identify the main cybersecurity challenges in the region, which are:

  • Lack of qualified personnel and resources in the cyber area;
  • Insufficient dedicated and systematic funding;
  • National Cyber Strategies not established, outdated and not aligned with the EU’s Directive on security of network and information systems (NIS Directive);
  • Outdated national legislation not compliant with current EU legislation and cybersecurity standards;
  • No regular cyber risk assessments performed at a national level;
  • National-level contingency plans not established;
  • Critical Information Infrastructure (CII) lists at national level not defined or incomplete.

Through the EU4Digital project, a set of good practices and recommendations in the field of cybersecurity was identified and prepared for national authorities in the form of Cybersecurity guidelines. These guidelines provide recommendations on how to continue with the development of their cybersecurity and for effective practices in developing, implementing, evaluating and maintaining cybersecurity measures. This will contribute to a stronger and more resilient cyberspace among the partnership countries and decrease the risk of disruption or failure of network information systems.

Furthermore, the detailed overview of cybersecurity in each Eastern partner country – state of play, main challenges and next actions provided in the individual country reports – will serve as an input to the EU4Digital: Improving Cyber Resilience in the Eastern Partnership Countries programme.