Eastern Partnership

The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint policy initiative which aims to deepen and strengthen relations between the European Union (EU), its Member States and its six Eastern neighbours: ArmeniaAzerbaijanBelarusGeorgiathe Republic of Moldova​ and Ukraine. The EU’s relations with its neighbours are guided by its Global Strategy and the revised European Neighbourhood Policy, which call on the need to focus on increasing the stabilisation and resilience of the EU’s Eastern neighbours. 

Within this framework, there is a joint commitment to deliver tangible results for citizens across the region

Building on the current agenda of 20 deliverables for 2020, a new set of long-term policy objectives – the Joint Communication on ‘Reinforcing Resilience – an Eastern Partnership that delivers for all’ – was adopted on 18 March 2020, outlining the objectives for the Eastern Partnership beyond 2020, and setting out measures that aim to strengthen resilience, foster sustainable development, and deliver tangible results for society.

These objectives are built around five policy priorities:

  • A Partnership that CREATES
    Together for resilient, sustainable and integrated economies
  • A Partnership that PROTECTS
    Together for accountable institutions, the rule of law, and security
  • A Partnership that GREENS
    Together towards environmental and climate resilience
  • A Partnership that CONNECTS
    Together for a resilient digital transformation
  • A Partnership that EMPOWERS
    Together for resilient, fair and inclusive societies

Support for a resilient digital transformation is clearly identified as a key priority for the Eastern Partnership beyond 2020: “A strong digital presence in the EU’s neighbourhood will enable growth and drive sustainable development. In this respect, the EU will invest further in the digital transformation of the partner countries, in line with EU legislation and best practices and support the scale up of highly innovative digital start-ups in the region. The EU will further support and assist the cyber resilience of partner countries.”

For more information, follow the link.