Roaming Stakeholder Meeting

  • Date: 12/11/19 to 12/11/19
  • Share:

The Roaming Stakeholders Meeting will be held on 12 November 2019 in Vilnius, Lithuania to discuss options for concluding a Regional Roaming Agreement. 

The event will be organised by the Communications Regulatory Authority of the Republic of Lithuania (RRT), as the Co-Chair of the Roaming Expert Working Group (REWG) of the EaPeReg Network (Eastern Partnership Electronic Communications Regulators Network) in cooperation with the REWG Chair, the National Commission for the State Regulation of Communications and Informatization (NCCIR), with the support of the European Union.

The main purpose of the event is to discuss with responsible ministries the proposed legal framework options for concluding the Regional Roaming Agreement (RRA) in the light of World Trade Organization (WTO) obligations, and to search for the most appropriate option for all six Eastern Partnership (EaP) countries.REWG activities and progress made in implementation of the Roadmap towards the RRA will be presented, as well as agreements achieved at the 3rd EaP Ministerial Meeting on Digital Economy regarding the possibility to create a common roaming space between EaP and EU.

The European Union’s EU4Digital initiative works together with EaPeReg, supporting efforts to achieve a common roaming space among Eastern Partner countries by 2020, to strengthen the independence of National Regulatory Authorities, and to develop coordinated strategies for frequency distribution.